Hotshot’s Movie Reviews by Dan Culberson

Dan Culberson’s insightful commentary of current movies in the theaters. Contact Hotshots at danculberson@juno.com.

Tickets and Showtimes

Find Movie Tickets and Showtimes in your area.

Movie Trailers


Hotshots Movie Reviews

Calvary

Calvary "Depressing Through and Through"

August 18th, 2014

CALVARY has been called a "dark comedy," and I certainly agree that it is dark, but I found nothing in it that I would call a comedy.[READ|SHARE]

Get On Up

Get On Up "Loud and Proud"

August 14th, 2014

GET ON UP is the story of James Brown, known at various times in his life and career as The Hardest Working Man in Show Business, The Godfather of Soul, or as he preferred to be called by strangers and even friends, "Mr. Brown."[READ|SHARE]

A Most Wanted Man

A Most Wanted Man "Just One Fault"

August 5th, 2014

A MOST WANTED MAN is based on a John le Carre novel published in 2008, but it is most notable in that it's the final major performance of Philip Seymour Hofman, who died in February 2014.[READ|SHARE]

Sex Tape

Sex Tape "As Promised"

July 29th, 2014

SEX TAPE is a movie that resembles its title: lots of skin and boring story.[READ|SHARE]

Begin Again

Begin Again "Not Memorable"

July 21st, 2014

BEGIN AGAIN has a typical setup for a romantic comedy, but the most untraditional ending ever for a romantic comedy.[READ|SHARE]

Life Itself

Life Itself "Tough and Joyous"

July 21st, 2014

LIFE ITSELF is a documentary about the life and career of Roger Joseph Ebert, perhaps the most popular, famous, and successful film critic, who died April 4, 2013, at 70, and it is based on Ebert's autobiography of the same name.[READ|SHARE]

Obvious Child

Obvious Child "Not the Worst Movie"

July 6th, 2014

OBVIOUS CHILD has been getting outstanding reviews, but as with most movies these days, it won't be everyone's cup of tea.[READ|SHARE]

Jersey Boys

Jersey Boys "With a Bullet"

June 29th, 2014

JERSEY BOYS is an adaptation of the 2005 award-winning musical on Broadway, it is directed by Clint Eastwood, it stars some of the same actors as were in the play, and it tells the story of the rise and fall and rise of the singing legends, Franki Valli and the[READ|SHARE]

22 Jump Street

22 Jump Street "Lowbrow As It Gets"

June 24th, 2014

22 JUMP STREET is the sequel to the 2012 21 JUMP STREET, which in turn was a spoofy adaptation of the 1980 TV series, all of which just keeps on proving that Hollywood has run out of ideas.[READ|SHARE]

The Fault In Our Stars

The Fault In Our Stars "LOVE STORY for Teenagers"

June 12th, 2014

THE FAULT IN OUR STARS takes its title from Shakespeare's JULIUS CAESAR and not ROMEO AND JULIET, which would be more appropriate, except that this movie comes nowhere near the quality of any Shakespeare work.[READ|SHARE]

More Hotshots Reviews


Go to Top